Tuesday, February 9, 2016 - 7:30pm

Gregory Hughes, conductor

James Garcia clarinet

Verdi: La forza del destino Overture
Spohr: Clarinet Concerto No. 4
Schaller: New Work
Prokofiev: Lieutenant Kijé Symphonic Suite
Ravel: Boléro

Entering the new year with a festive flight of orchestral virtuosity, Gregory Hughes will lead Ravel's drivingBoléro and a new work by Jeff Schaller, and clarinetist James Garcia will dazzle with Spohr's rarely heard Concerto No. 4.

Opening the concert will be the overture to Giuseppe Verdi's opera La forza del destino (“The Power of Fate” or “The Force of Destiny”). Considered one of the preeminent opera composer of the 19th century, Verdi's music has become synonymous with Italian culture of the time. Although the opera La forza del destino has been eclipsed in popularity by Verdi's other works for stage (AidaRigoletto, and La traviata, for example), the overture has remained popular in the symphonic repertoire.

Louis Spohr, a German composer, conductor, and violinist, was highly regarded during his lifetime. A prolific composer of symphonies and concerti, he fell into relative obscurity after his death in 1859. Performing Spohr's fourth clarinet concerto will be Lakeview Orchestra principal clarinetist, James Garcia. A founding member of Lakeview Orchestra, James is a Chicago-area native and has performed with the Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestra, Lake Shore Symphony, and Wheaton Municipal Band.

Jeff Schaller is the principal bassist of Lakeview Orchestra, and a music teacher with Chicago Public Schools. Lakeview Orchestra will premiere Schaller's new work (title TBA) for orchestra.

20th century Soviet composer Sergei Prokofiev is an acknowledged master of many musical disciplines including symphonies, chamber music, and ballet. He is also one of the first and most prominent composers to write music for film. His score for the film Lieutenant Kijé, a comedy satirizing the Russian monarchy of the pre-Soviet era, was written in 1933. Prokofiev extracted five movements to form a symphonic suite which broadly follows the plot of the film, and premiered the suite in Paris in 1937.

Maurice Ravel's Boléro is, by far, the French composer's most popular composition. Comprised of only two melodies, repeated by different instruments of the orchestra without any development, the work was initially meant to be music for a fully staged and choreographed ballet. Although it was premiered as such, Boléroquickly became a fixture in orchestral concert halls.